Speaker Imo Assembly, 7 lawmakers Dump Party, Join APC

By Stanley Ojochogu 

The Speaker Imo State House of Assembly, Mr. Collins Chiji, and seven other lawmakers have dumped their party and joined the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Although this is generating lots of critiques, the lawmakers have seen ignored those castigating them and moved to the ruling party.

The Supreme had last two weeks sacked Mr. Emeka Ihedioha, who was elected Imo state governor under the platform of People Democratic Party (PDP), while upholding the election Mr. Hope Uzodinma, the APC candidate as the winner of the 2019 governorship election.

Since Uzodinma assumed office as the Imo state governor, the lawmakers have left their party for the governor’s party with the Speaker and seven others been the latest APC guests.  

The speaker on Tuesday read the defection letter on the floor of the house in a session that lasted less than 15 minutes. 

The lawmakers that have since duped their party are Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru); Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West); Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East); Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West); Kennedy Ibe (Obowo)’; Onyemaechi Njoku (Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

Last week, nine lawmakers dumped their party for APC, while Mr. Charles Ezekwem, the state chairman of PDP, on Monday resigned from his position.

An action he said was based on the circumstances surrounding the state politics at the moment. 

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *